After Igor (2010)

Commission: The Philharmonic Orchestra

Instrumentation: 4(3,4.picc)3(,4.bcl)4(4.cbsn),43(1.picc Bb)3(3.btrb)1, 4perc(1.timp), pno, 2hrps, strings

Duration: 9 minutes

Program Information:
After Igor
 was commissioned by the Philharmonic Orchestra Society specially for ‘100 years later – The Firebird’, in celebration of the 100th anniversary of the creation of Stravinsky’s well-loved ballet, The Firebird in 2010. As such, After Igor shares the same instrumentation as Stravinsky’s The Firebird, and was intended to be as a contemporary narrative introduction to The Firebird that can be a standalone piece or be continued attaca (at once) into Stravinsky’s The Firebird.

Due to the celebratory nature of the commission, the work opens with an explosive fanfare-like theme that frames the entire work. This fanfare eventually expands and introduces flourishes of descending woodwind gestures and distant resonant bell sounds that evoke the magical spirit of the land of the Kaschei, just like in Stravinsky’s The Firebird. Within this charming landscape, four solo wind instruments – piccolo, Eb clarinet, cor anglais and trumpets, dance a jaunty and gawky ballet interpretation that elicits a dancing ‘firebird’, before having the ‘firebird’ burst and erupt back into the opening fanfare-like theme again.

November 4 2010 | The Philharmonic Orchestra | Singapore

April 16 2010 | Peabody Symphony Orchestra | Baltimore MD
August 11-13 2019 | Orquesta Sinfónica de Aguascalientes | Aguascalientes, Mexico

This score is available for purchase!
You may purchase PDFs of the score directly through my website (prices in USD)!
1. Click the box with pricing information below. You will be directed PayPal.
2. Include your information (please make sure your email is correct), and pay.
3. You will receive the receipt and download link in your email momentarily.