Fantasia on “Aus tiefer Not schrei ich zu dir” (2018)

Commission: Phoon Yu

Duration: 4 minutes

Premiere: August 26 2018 | Phoon Yu | Singapore

Performance: December 5 2018 | Phoon Yu | New York, NY

Instrumentation: organ

Program Information:

Fantasia on Aus tiefer Not schrei ich zu dir (Out of deep distress I cry to you) is based on J.S. Bach’s chorale of the same name, BWV686/687. Like Bach’s chorale, the work is structured in five phrases, each beginning with a complex chord that hints at the chorale prelude by removing pitches of the prelude from the chord. These sections are followed by (with the exception of the first), a fantasia like expansion of material, with each building on those before to reach the climatic question “Wer kann, Herr, für dir bleiben?” (Who can stand before you, Lord?)

id dolor consectetur quis consequat. leo suscipit Sed efficitur. massa